Bad Mood Mama

Sometimes I feel guilty about being in a bad mood.  Not that I’m perfect and they aren’t supposed to happen, but when no one I’m around caused it (particularly my husband and kids), I feel guilty about my bad mood.

I’ve seen this twice in the last 24 hours, it seems fitting:

1392021_1062606230435496_6788550237437955410_n

 

I’m not upset with my husband, and my kids are being perfect because it’s day 1 of a 2 week break from school.  I’m just in a shitty-ass mood (I warned you on my first post, I do swear sometimes, but I’ll keep this PG-13).

A dear friend of mine became a widow at an unimaginable young age, shifting the parenting of 3 very young children from two parents to one.  Through our sometimes laughed about astronomical amount of hours spent talking, she told me once that she missed having someone to fight with.  To set the record straight, she and her husband were not a married couple who fought regularly, they had a great relationship.  She just missed having someone to banter with, to be pissed off with, because it’s not like she could do that with the kids.  I get that.  My good friend has recently remarried, and I was fortunate to have their wedding at my home.  It was beautiful.  I believe she is the most resilient person I have ever met.

As mentioned, the ‘someone to fight with’, I get that.  I wish that I could put some boxing gloves on during a bad mood and give my husband a nod and say ’10 minutes in the ring’, no feelings attached, head out to the barn, and let the punches fly.  Get that unaccounted for aggression out.  Unfortunately, as much as I could try and explain the reasoning behind boxing my husband is not anger related, I don’t think the amount of therapy my kids may need after witnessing that is in our pocket range.

So, I went for a long bike ride.  Sweating while listening to some Van Halen, Jay-Z, Rob Base and DJ EZ Rock, and some Queen to include a few, that helped me.  I’m better now.

If I start selling soap, be worried.  Otherwise, if you hear a bell ‘ding’ in the barn, it may just be that my husband bought me some boxing gloves and a big ol’ punching bag!  Round one!!

images

 

Leave me a comment below if you got the soap reference.  Let me know I’m not out here on my own!  🙂  One of my top 10 movies of all time for sure!!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

