Oops I did it again!

Last weekend I did it again.  I was asked the basic question ‘what do you do?’ by an acquaintance, and I did not give a basic answer.

I started with telling that I’m a stay at home mom, but I didn’t stop there.  I went for the list.  I went on to explain that I’m a Recreation Therapist, and with that, had to explain that I work some nights and/or weekend days consulting in care homes that serve people with disabilities.

I didn’t stop there.  I also explained that I substitute teach at my girls school.  And I may have even went completely off the deep end and added that I do the books for our home business and also volunteer.

Why, why do I do this?  Especially after all the times I have done it in the past, and I often get responses such as ‘oh, that’s good you get to get out of the house sometimes.’  Lame.

I love being a stay at home mom.  I am very proud.  So, why don’t I stop there?  Why do I continue to sell myself into a roll to prove that I’m justifiably qualified to have conversations about many items other than just kids?

As I thought about it later in the day, I realized I may have it backwards.  That maybe instead of people not giving me the opportunity of an open mind, I’m not having an open mind towards them.  Maybe the people I meet that ask the question  ‘what do you do’ wouldn’t place me in a category of only being able to talk about child rearing.  And just maybe one day I’d become friends with one of these acquaintances and then they’d find out all about me then, dismissing the need for a tell all in what is supposed to be simple answer to a question.

Talk about Jedi Mind Trick.

 

5 comments

  1. Yes!!!! I do it more often than I would like, but will share my best responses. I mostly say “serve Jesus.” Noone ever knows what to say to that. You can’t trump Jesus, period! Sometimes I say “whatever I want,” just to be snarky, but really since I serve Jesus, I am doing exactly what I want. More often than I’d like to admit , I ramble on about how I am busy all of the time, but not exactly sure what I “do.” I really like my first response the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

