I am one step up from jammie bottoms.

About a year ago, I was walking my kids into school and I heard shuffling/scraping of feet.  One of my least favorite sounds in the world.  I must tell my middle child to ‘pick up your feet’ at least 4 times a week.  As I looked to see who the culprit was, my eyes discovered it was a parent, shuffling her slippers across the sidewalk, her slippers accompanied by her jammies and jacket.  OH COME ON!!!!!!

I love jammies.  My family knows that, friends know that.  If I have nowhere to be, I’m wearing jammies, into the home office to do work, around the house to cook, clean and do laundry.  I loved when the kids were little and they didn’t have schedules yet, we would have jammie days all the time!  The warmer the jammies, the better.  Over the years, my kids have gotten me Spongebob jammies, Eeyore jammies, and tons of fuzzy, fleece, flannel ones.

Image 1

As much as I love jammies, and would prefer to stay in them at all times, I don’t.  I step it up ONE notch, and throw on some sweats and a hoodie.  But that one notch is enough to say ‘I cared enough to get changed out of my jammies before going out into public.’  I did not get the gift of wanting to spend a lot of time on my clothes or appearance.  As a matter of fact, my New Years resolution was to put aside at least 5 minutes each day to use my flat iron and make my hair more presentable.  Resolution fail…I’m in a pony tail or hat 98% of the time.  There are times that I feel I should step it up, and others that I say ‘screw it.’  If there’s a reason, I will dress for the occasion, and clean up well.  But as much as I’m a slacker in the fashion department……jammies in public, I haven’t done that.

If you ever see me in Target and I’m in my jammies, it will be because my children puked on each and every pair of pants that I own.  And you will know that because I will tell everyone I see that ‘I’m in my jammies because my kids puked on all my clothes.  I’m here to get Children’s Tylenol, we ran out, and I had no puke free pants, I had to wear my jammies.’  That would be legit.

This is the text I received from my longest lifetime friend this morning:

Image

And yes, I wrote wailing instead of walking on mistake, but the point of this is, we have had the jammies in public talk so many times, that it required the above acknowledgment text.

Hey, I’m not hating on anyone.  This below pretty much sums it up:

2 comments

Leave a Reply

