Pop Tarts for the Win!

6:15, dreadful 6:15.  It’s the start of the ‘time to get up’ chant around my house.

The freshman does not want to get out of bed.  This is the boy who would get up at 6:00 am each morning and catch up on SportsCenter before needing to leave at 8:00 am for elementary school.  Yet, this is the year he’s chosen to finally learn the art of sleeping in.

And so the battle begins…

  • I turn the light on in his room
  • He moans, shoots me a few lovely glances and groans ‘noooooo’.
  • I leave the room.
  • I return to the room 5 minutes later for the same routine.
  • The circle finally ends with me stomping, possibly yelling, and lots of times threatening, and then he finally gets up.  Only to then rush around and be a grump until he rushes out the door.
  • And then I get to start all over with 2 more kids (a bit of a different routine, although often, there are tears.)
  • And just for the record, YES, there is an alarm clock, and it is turned off after it beeps, and the culprits lay back down and go to sleep.

So what’s a mom of 3 kids to do?  Turn to Facebook of course.

This was my question:

If anyone has a fantastic plan for waking up and getting 3 kids moving out of bed in the morning on school days that doesn’t result in serious grumpy attitudes or tears, let me know. Otherwise, I’ll just be counting down the days until summer.
Just keep swimming….

I got an awesome amount of response.  Everything from super nice ways of waking kids up (that made me feel mean for never thinking of them) like putting their clothes in the dryer before they get out of bed so they are cozy (so awesome), to putting ice cubes in their beds to get them up, saying you were calling the principal, music, earlier bedtimes…

And then I saw it.

One of my longest lifetime dear friends wrote these two words, and these two words only:  Pop Tarts.

My gosh, that may just work.  Pop Tarts are usually reserved for ‘vacation breakfast’, my son in particular loves them.

I bought Pop Tarts a few days later.  The morning time came, and I told him he could have some for breakfast before school.  His eyes lit up like I just said that school had been cancelled.  I then put the following note on his dresser:

Image 1

After the next morning where he got up and was dressed before 6:30, that evening he said ‘Pop Tarts just make the day better mom.’

Today was the first school day after Day Light Savings.  Wake up at 5:15, but the clock says it’s really 6:15.  I was a bit nervous, wasn’t sure if the note would be enough power for the ultimate Jedi Mind Trick of Day Light Savings.  It was.

And that’s how Pop Tarts won.

IMG_4918

The result of my husband going to the grocery store after Pop Tarts won.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

