10 days is NOT the business.

10 is much different than 205.

10 days ago, I had my first migraine in 205 days.  Today, I had another.  It bites.

I met my friend to get our toes done (very rare occurrence, about twice a year, so this was a big day!)  As I entered the nail salon, the wall that is a glass waterfall seemed to encompass every single prism of light in the universe and laser it my way.  I’ve gotten a migraine in this place before, but I’ve also gone there and not gotten one.  Not my lucky day today. The prisms of light that seem to only be attracted to my eyes, in combination with the endless can lights in the salon above my head said ‘You’re out.’

As soon as my eyes went full kaleidoscope, I was calm.  I know what to do and what to expect when I get to that point.  It’s the before that is not fun, wondering if the migraine is or is not going to rear it’s ugly head.

My friend and I talked about the need to find a dark place that does pedicures.  Then we quickly retracted that and laughed thinking that may not be a place that we’re supposed to visit!

My kaleidoscope eyes let up just in time for me to see the end result, pretty toes.  Then, with heavy heart, I entered my migraine into a new app I just got last week called Migraine Buddy.  All the information that I’ve been keeping in the notes of my iPhone for years, now is stored in a convenient little app.  It tracks migraines, as well as provide reports to target triggers and similarities.  Cool.

10 is no 205.  Still optimistic though thinking since it was the glass wall of water that brought it on, maybe they aren’t back to stay quite yet.

And on we went to drown my migraine frustrations in some Chili’s chips and salsa and tacos.  Migraine smoothie will come a bit later today, hope it can reel this in a bit.

Good thing tomorrow’s headache can hold hands with a mellow day without big plans.

6 comments

  1. I feel for you. I grew up having migraines, starting when I was around 4/5. Terrible. Thankfully, they are few and far between now having been replaced with constant but bearable headaches.

    Like

  2. ha ha – I like the comic you posted. Funny stuff; No, Tylenol does not help with headaches/migraine! When I was younger and would have frequent headaches, and I determined really early on that Tylenol didn’t even begin to touch my headaches for relief. I always figured it just wasn’t my drug of choice or something…how people prefer this one versus that. It wasn’t until I “grew up” and was properly diagnosed that I learned why Tylenol never helped – It’s because I had migraine. Anti-inflamatories have always been useful to me for reducing head pain; now I know why. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

