Our children’s reality, uncomfortably numb.

Today, day 3 of the new school year, I experienced my first real ‘lock down’ of a school my child was inside of. There were no children walking out of the school during pick up time, which was strange. My friend who’s daughter I drive home along with mine texted me to ask if there was a lock down at their school. What? As a matter of fact, there were 4 police cars down the road I was parked on. I called the police department after it had been 10 minutes since my daughter and her friend should have been in the car, and they stated that the lock down had just lifted. The lock down was due to police activity near the school. I am very thankful for the quick and proper response the school gave, yet it was still unnerving to say the least. As every day, I am thankful for the schools my children attend, and the wonderful teachers that are with them each day. Still wish this wasn’t their reality though…

You can't argue with crazy

On the way home in the car just now, my 3rd grader talked for 15 minutes about the lock out drill they had at school today.  She said they have a new code word, and that today, one of her friends was in the bathroom when the drill (so, so, thankful it was a drill) occurred.  If you’re in the bathroom, she told me, you stand up on the toilet and stay quiet.  There’s a whole different protocol if you are outside on the playground, or in the hallways.  She must have said 9 times how sorry she was for the friend who was in the bathroom when the drill happened.

Ok, a couple of things:

  1. I am numb that this is our reality.
  2. My freshman son asked why in the world they have those drills, I explained they have to be prepared, because this type of thing has happened…

View original post 334 more words

7 comments

  1. It sucks that this is the world we live in. It sucks this is what our kids have to grow up in. At least they are training to be prepared for the worst. My son has already been in three REAL school lock down situations, which is is part of why we moved out of New Mexico. Salem, Oregon is a little bit more safe, but we still don’t let our guard down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is really sad. I remember all of the school doors and windows being open when I was a kid. I don’t have children of my own, but I had to pick up my nephew’s from school and needed to go through 3 security checks. I didn’t mind, but I feel sorry for kids today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

