Active, not athletic.

This week while at work, three high school boys came up and were selling cookies to create funds for their cross country track team.  I asked them about their mile times, and they were totally excited to share them.

The night before, I watched Becoming Alex Morgan about the soccer star with my daughter.  Very cool.

I’ve never really had a huge athletic piece in my life.

I’ve always said that I’m active, not athletic.

‘I play real sports, not trying to be the best at exercising.’  Classic Kenny Powers.  Yet, I don’t even try to be the best at exercising.  I’m like, average, and ok at exercising.  I just go through the motions to get it done.

I’ve done a handful of 1/2 marathons, and one full (bucket list, done.)  Each and every race I’ve done, my husband asks if I’m going to ‘smoke’ the people I’m running with in the race.  And I’ve always replied, “I’m staying with my friends!”

Being an athletic and competitive person, he looks at me like I am truly speaking a different language than one he can understand.

A perfect example of me being active, not athletic (which, by the way, I see no problem with, and in no way do I state that about myself negatively), is my husband’s family reunion volleyball game.  I’m a tall person.  Active.  I believe tall and active were misconstrued for athletic.  Half way through the first FAMILY volleyball game that included kids, and adults, I was pulled aside by not just one of my husbands uncles, but two of his uncles to point out where I needed to be moving, and when, and how I needed to improve. Sorry guys. Active, not athletic.

I like walking, biking, mountain biking (without much uphill, I’ll whine loudly if there’s a lot of uphill), at times running, and I can hold my own working out at the gym too.  Those work for me.  Although, I’m not good at classes at the gym.  Some of my friends love their classes.  I’m ok with admitting the main reason I don’t like classes:  I don’t like being told what to do.  “Push it harder.  Go faster.”  No thanks.  I’m good.

Being that I like biking and mountain bike riding, I tried a spin class.  Once.  Hated it.  Why?

  1. Being told what to do and when.  (I know it’s not a good quality, but at least I’m admitting it.  That’s worth something right?)
  2. I couldn’t walk for about 2 days.  I now know why people bring their own seat cushion things.  Horrendous.

It has been 6-1/2 years now that I have kept a twice a week crazy AM commitment to working out.  My good friend Timaree from http://thenutritionprofessor.com (just about to publish her first cookbook http://foodiebars.com, it’s awesome) and I have met each and every Tuesday and Thursday at 5:00 AM (sometimes even earlier!) since May of 2009.  The only times we have missed a day is if one of us is pretty darn sick, or we are out of town.  I have people ask me all the time ‘Do you still work out with your friend in the mornings?’  Yep.  The other days of the week, we do our own things to stay active and healthy.  The early Tuesdays and Thursdays, it’s basically just auto-pilot.  And it is a pretty great feeling to hit about 2:00 PM and realize that I’ve already worked out for the day (because is seems like it had been yesterday being so early in the morning!)  I’m no hero though, the times that she hasn’t been able to make it, I thankfully reset my alarm for two hours later and roll over!

Being active and working out always has the benefit of being able to fit into the clothes in the closet.  But over the past few years, it’s become much more than that.  When I don’t move, when I’m not active, my emotions and my mental health are affected.  I can physically and emotionally feel when I haven’t been active enough.  For me,it helps with anxiety, and all that comes with that lovely quality of mine.  I wrote how exercise can help change my mental state in a past post, Bad Mood Mama.  The quick fix of endorphins, it usually is the key.

I’m on day 45 of being migraine free, so migraine related anxiety is asleep for now.  Still heading towards that 200+ glory mark though!!!  I’ll take what I can get for now and feel good being ‘ok at exercising!”

🙂

2 comments

  1. Congrats to you on your commitment. I am like your husband and competitive by nature but I have so much respect (possibly more) for people who are dedicated to exercise and activity when it doesn’t come as naturally to them. Great post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

