Swearing 101

If you’re going to swear, know your audience.

Standing, waiting to be checked out at a local office supply store, I had to listen in to a conversation between co workers behind the cash registers, who all clearly saw me and knew that I was in line waiting to be called over.  As the one female dropped the F bomb in the middle of the story, she giggled, and covered her mouth and said ‘ooops’.

Ya, I didn’t want to hear your story in the first place, I want to pay for my things and leave.  And I also don’t need you to be dropping the F bomb at your place of employment where you are supposed to be professional.

Offended is way too strong of a word for what I felt hearing her drop the F bomb.  I didn’t yell out ‘WHOA, you kiss your mother with that mouth?”  It was more like I just felt like saying ‘Clean it up, it’s not cute.  Know your audience.’

I swear.  Pretty much always have.  I still remember my first bad words.  5th grade, on the playground, I called someone a Friggin F**k hound.  I have no idea what that meant, nor where I got it, but I stuck it on someone for some reason or another.  I certainly did not swear often as a child.  And I still do not swear all the time, and most definitely not in front of everyone I know.  There’s the rule, know your audience.

There are people  who I will never in my life swear in front of.

And there are people, old, fantastic friends who I have known for life, that when around them, it’s like I just changed out of tight pants into sweats and can let the words flow.  No filter, no regrets, not judgement.  Using the words as an emphasis, and part of the way our friendship cracks each other up.

That’s not everyone though, and that’s the point.  To the rookie telling the story at the office supply store, know your audience.  Clean it up, no one needed that.

One comment

Leave a Reply

