Where do we go?

A horrific shooting at a Regional Center today?  I have worked with people with disabilities for 20 years now, and am very, very familiar with the Regional Centers in the areas I have worked at.  I have friends who are social workers at these Centers.  They coordinate the services needed from housing, to schooling, to medical and beyond for babies, children, and adults with developmental disabilities.  The people that these Regional Centers serve have made such a huge impact on my life.  I have no idea what the motive could have been for this.

Not that any motive is ever going to be an explanation, and of course never an excuse or justification.  Horrific acts of taking another’s life?  No one has that right.  I have told that to my children, no one has the right to take the life of another.  Ever.

Yet, it’s happening ALL THE TIME.

I just saw a beautiful picture of Tuscany when I was scrolling through a page.  Do we pack up and go there?  Will it follow everyone everywhere?

Schools, movie theaters, government facilities, non profit organizations.

Where do we go to escape this?

I’ve written quite a bit about shootings.  How horrible.

Below is part 4 of Our Children’s reality, uncomfortably numb.

https://youcantarguewithcrazy.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/part-4-our-childrens-reality-uncomfortably-numb/

 

Leave a Reply

