Migraines just reached a new level of suck.

I’m on day 135 migraine free, which is awesome.

What’s not awesome?  I watched one of my kids get a migraine tonight.

“Mom, I think I’m getting a migraine.  I have spots all over my eyes, and I feel dizzy.”  About 1/2 hour later, killer headache.

This sucks worse than when I get one.

It’s happened about twice over the last 8 years or so that one of my kids has gotten a migraine.  Good odds actually.  But really?  Why is that something that I need to pass down?  Hey, here ya go kid, a big batch of crap, with the name migraine, all for you!

Ironically, I’m happy that I do know what a migraine is and how disabling one can be sometimes.  I’m happy that if tomorrow is a day that my kid tells me they need to stay home because their head is killing them, that I can totally understand and not second guess them.

I hope that migraines do not become a regular occurrence with my kids.  I hope that if they do get one though, that their teachers and coaches can somehow understand that this is not a made up thing to get out of a responsibility, yet a temporary, painful pause button on life as you want it.

a6ebb7f3ddfdb3680d38bf5ced0d9f2f
Leave a Reply

