Representing 209

Yes, my area code is 209, but I’m more focused on representing day 209 of no migraines.

I was super nervous to celebrate day 200, or even really acknowledge day 205, which is where my largest migraine free streak up until now had ended.

Yet, here I am.  Day 209.  No kaleidoscope eyes, no dullness for 48 hours with the fear of standing up too quickly for reasons other than a fire due to the extreme headache pain for TWO HUNDRED AND NINE DAYS!  Anti migraine smoothie?  Butterbur?  Feverfew?  B-2?  Plain luck?  Don’t know the reason.  Just thankful.

I wrote on day 197 that I was nervous about going to Vegas, that partying like a rock star (although, let’s be honest, my version of partying like a rock star is likened more to that of a 90 year old rock star these days), but honestly, I was nervous that enjoying multiple cocktails for a couple days in a row may bring on a migraine.

A couple days before our trip, I woke up in the middle of the night and told my husband I didn’t want to go to Vegas.  Not because of my fear of it triggering a migraine, I just wasn’t feeling it.  When I booked the trip months ago, which was anchored by purchasing tickets to see Billy Idol, I was in a Hell Ya! mood, a kick ass Let’s Do This! mood.  I haven’t been feeling that mood lately.  And the more experience I have at this living life thing, the more I have to listen to that voice that says “I don’t want to do this” and go with what feels good.

So, we went to Tahoe.  Familiar, relaxing, beautiful, with some cocktails mixed in there too.  The gambling gods even gave me a shout out to let me know that I was right to listen to my inner voice and go with what feels good by giving me this:

IMG_8273

Thank you Royal Flush.

Catch ya’ on the next one Billy Idol.

Rock on 209.

Leave a Reply

